A Funny Kind of Education

This book will definitely appeal to those who educate at home but as a childless person I have to say I really enjoyed reading this excerpt too!

Ross Mountney's Notebook

  “Not in school today?”

“How can they learn without going to school?”

“How will they know anything if they don’t do tests?”

“Won’t they have no friends?”

“Don’t you worry it’ll make your kids weird?”

These are just some of the questions you get asked when you home educate. How we dealt with them and what the answers are, plus all the other things that get thrown at you as a home school family, can be found in my new book ‘A FUNNY KIND OF EDUCATION’.

But don’t think this is an educational tome! For despite the word being in the title, this is less of a book about education and more of a family story; a story of what it’s really like to home school.

It contains all the ups and downs of any family’s life, the laughter and the fun, the decisions and the excitement, and the…

View original post 1,888 more words

2 thoughts on “A Funny Kind of Education

  1. Thank you so much for re-blogging Gaina and for your compliments. My wish is that it would expand beyond those just interested in home education to anyone concerned with children, or anyone who just likes a good family story. So your comments on my blog were really encouraging. Thank you.

    1. My pleasure :). I am interested because I am involved with education via my work with the Hawk and Owl Trust, and I see how well children work outside, they are just so much more relaxed and focussed. I am absolutely convinced children do better when they’re free-range, not stuck in stuffy little concrete boxes and simply expected to produce results…a bit like hens!! ;).

Leave a Reply

