We know what battery cages and factory farm conditions do the physical and mental well-being of other animals, so why the HELL are we inflicting them on our children!? There was a time when I would have dearly loved to be a teacher but my aunt (who taught for many years) warned me against it. Now I understand why.

Ross Mountney's Notebook

There he stands all smart and sparkling in his new too-big uniform, looking too small for school but with a sparkle of enthusiasm also in his eye.

He’s excited; everyone’s told him what an exciting place school is with lots of nice people and great activities he’ll love doing. He’s very keen – everyone’s been so nice each time he’s visited…

A few lessons in and the sparkle goes out his eyes faster than it goes off the uniform.

His first lesson is that not everyone is so nice, not even some of the people who smiled before. They’re too busy. Too concerned with having to do other things like keep control and make kids sit still.

His next lesson is that you rarely get exciting things to do. In fact, you never learn about things you want to learn about because you have to learn what the learning objective…

View original post 611 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. Thanks so much for the reblog – glad the post moved you! Funny but I was a teacher too – we home educated because having seen it I didn’t think what was going on in classrooms was all that good for kids – I still have colleagues going through hell as teachers – and I also would like to put people off as it isn’t teaching any more, it’s politics! It was lovely when you could really engage with children and give them what they need. Gone are the days…;) I wonder what will happen from now on in though as the people the kids really need aren’t going to be there!

    1. Hi, the pleasure is all mine :). I was a teaching assistant for children with severe learning difficulties and that was what got me thinking I might like to be a teacher. We had small classes were you could really engage with the children and the parameters for ‘success’ were radically different for this pupils that they were in a mainstream school. We celebrated when someone learned to tie their shoelaces or learned to cope with a change in routine without having an emotional outburst.

      I am now working with children through various conservation charities so I can combine my love of teaching with my love of natural history and I find that’s the perfect mix for me and I suspect a far more effective way to pass on knowledge than a sterile classroom.

Leave a Reply

