GAAAAAAH!!!! (contains potty mouth).

Well, that was a crash course in frustration. On Tuesday I rang Motability to try and get a referral to my nearest driver assessment centre so I could be absolutely sure what I want and need from new Wheelchair Accessible Vehicle (WAV).

I was asked a few questions by the person on the other end of the phone….and promptly refused a grant for a WAV I can drive myself.  I don’t meet any of the criteria (mainly not having a job) but I can apply for one that would make me the passenger only. What the tartan fuck is the point of that!?  I’d be no better off than I am with the car I’ve got now.  The whole point of me getting the WAV is that I will have total freedom to lead my own life, and it also increases my chances of getting a job tenfold.

And really, is it too much to ask to be able to get in my car and take myself off for the day without needing to make sure there’s someone at the other end of my journey to sort out my wheelchair? Am I not allowed ONE freakin day in my own company?

Right now I am feeling utterly deflated.  All my plans for this year centred around that car and if I can’t get it…  I can’t give up. I won’t give up. But I may just need to go away and have a little cry first.

Dad and I have been batting around alternative ideas for finance.  One option is a ready-converted WAV but that would involve a Hire-Purchase agreement and wouldn’t cover things like insurance and roadside assistance which make Motability the only affordable way for me to have a car in the first place.

I’m going to name-drop here because Kerry at Holden Mobility has been awesome so far.  I’ve been emailing her today about this new curve-ball and she’s given me plenty of ideas about appealing decisions etc.

I was not offered the opportunity to be referred to the driver assessment centre, though I was offered a grant application form which I accepted.  When I received the application form, I noted that section 4 is specifically for applicants who wish to drive their WAV, which confused me somewhat as I was lead by the guy at the grants department to believe that grants are currently only available to those customers who wish to use the car as a passenger, not the driver.

**Sigh** I’m going to bang my head on the nearest wall now. I may be some time….

2 thoughts on “GAAAAAAH!!!! (contains potty mouth).

  1. That’s completely illogical! Do you think it might be a case of that infamous “personality call center doesn’t know all the rules” rule? I .could write reams and reams about this, but it would all be an expansion on my belief that this guy doesn’t know what he’s talking about

    1. The more I thought about it, the more I’m convinced he was talking out of his asst (he did seem awfully keen to end the call), so I send motability an email via their complaints procedure form on the website. This’ll either a) catch him out or b) serve to show them how bloody stupid this rule is. We shall see.

Leave a Reply

